Nursery Production Manager

Occupation/trade:

Sector:
Natural resources, agriculture and related production occupations
Occupation:
Contractors and supervisors, landscaping, grounds maintenance and horticulture services
 
Consult the National Occupational Classification for descriptions of these occupations
Number of vacancies of this type:
1

Description

The main duties associated with this position include planning, scheduling and overseeing potting, irrigation, fertilizing, pruning, weeding, spacing, winterizing, grading, clean up, labeling container plant production. • Selecting staff for various tasks associated with the potting process. • Set schedules for staff associated with potting such that they know what their individual responsibilities are for each day. • Allocating of equipment needed. • Oversee the operation of the potting machine and other production related activities such as prepping liners and stock to be upshifted. Keep the activities around the potting machine as well as the crew placing newly planted material in the beds running smoothly and efficiently in a coordinated fashion. • Ensure that all staff are working safely and that work areas are always organized and free or clutter and hazards. • Follow the established potting plan and work with the rest of the management team when changes need to be made to the plan. • Ensure the potting machine and potting area are cleaned at the end of each shift. • Following each day of potting, take counts and inspect for neat and tidy rows in the beds and correct labeling of blocks as per standard practices. • Complete and submit a potting report at the end of each day. Will be responsible for daily counts, record keeping and logs. • Monitor the health of all liners until the newly potted plants have been placed in growing beds. • Assess daily needs and make sure supplies such as soil and pots are always available. • Work with the IPM Pesticide Applicator to plan and carry out applications of herbicides and pesticides appropriate to crop type and pest problems throughout the year at all sites on the nursery. Follow Standard Practices manual and Worksafe regulations including communicating spray schedule with staff and placement of warning signs. • Oversee maintenance of spray records and product inventory. • Assist with purchasing fertilizer, potting mixes and plant protection products & chemicals. • Oversee day to day operation of all growing areas of the Nursery. • Liaise with suppliers, government officials and industry experts. • Supervise a varied work crew of up to 40 permanent and seasonal staff. • Coordinate and oversee the irrigation operation of container production at the nursery. • Supervise all staff designated to propagation and assign tasks as needed. • Undertake regular inventory inspections and soil/water tests to determine potential quality issues. • Schedule and oversee pruning and fertilizer applications as required. • Be responsible for the care and use of production equipment during production activities. • Ensure tasks are assigned efficiently, productivity objectives are met, and safety standards are maintained.

Training:

Training / Diplomas:
Professional formation
This training or diploma is
preferable

Linguistic skills:

French Level:
Good
French language is
preferable
English Level:
Bilingual
English language is
essential

Professional experience:

Area of professional experience:
Number of years of professional experience requiried:
min. 3
max. 
This professional experience and its duration are
essential

Contract

Contract type:
Open-end contract

Salary

These salary informations are confidential

Work benefits and bonuses:

Accommodation provided:
no
Travel expenses to job covered:
no
Moving expenses covered:
no

Additional information (visa info, unusual work hours, etc...) :

Work Conditions: Employee provides own rain gear & steel toed footwear and gloves when necessary. Work in all weather conditions and being physically able to meet demands including standing for extended periods, repetitive bending, twisting and pulling. Extra hours may be required during the growing season to accomplish objectives. Compensation: Subject to experience and education with Group Benefits available after 3 months. Hours of work: Full-time Monday to Friday, 7:30 AM to 4:00 PM.

Place of work:

British Columbia, Pitt Meadows

I wish to apply for this job.

Important notice: This job posting has been provided directly by the employer through Destination Canada Mobility Forum’s employer job-posting system. The Government of Canada has taken extra steps to make sure it is accurate and reliable, but can’t guarantee its authenticity.

Responsable de la production en pépinière

Profession/métier :

Secteur :
Ressources naturelles, agriculture et production connexe
Profession/métier :
Entrepreneurs/entrepreneuses et superviseurs/superviseures des services de l'aménagement paysager, de l'entretien des terrains et de l'horticulture
 
Consulter les descriptions dans la Classification nationale des professions
Nombre de postes offerts :
1

Description

Les tâches principales associées à ce poste incluent la planification, la programmation et la supervision de la mise en pot, l’irrigation, la fertilisation, la taille, le désherbage, l’espacement, l’hivernage, le calibrage, le nettoyage et l’étiquetage de la production en pots. • Sélection du personnel pour diverses tâches associées au processus de mise en pot. • Établir des horaires pour le personnel associé à la mise en pot de sorte qu'il sache quelles sont ses responsabilités individuelles pour chaque jour. • Allocation du matériel nécessaire. • Superviser le fonctionnement de la machine de rempotage et d’autres activités liées à la production, telles que la préparation des doublures et des stocks, à passer à la vitesse supérieure. Veillez à ce que les activités autour de la machine à rempoter ainsi que l’équipe plaçant le matériel nouvellement planté dans les lits se déroule de manière harmonieuse et efficace, de manière coordonnée. • Assurez-vous que tout le personnel travaille en toute sécurité et que les zones de travail sont toujours organisées et libres de tout encombrement et de tous les dangers. • Suivez le plan de mise en pot établi et travaillez avec le reste de l'équipe de direction lorsque des modifications doivent être apportées au plan. • Assurez-vous que la machine d'empotage et la zone d'empotage sont nettoyées à la fin de chaque quart de travail. • Après chaque journée d'empotage, comptez, inspectez les rangées rangées et rangées dans les lits et corrigez l'étiquetage des blocs conformément aux pratiques en vigueur. • Remplissez et soumettez un rapport de rempotage à la fin de chaque journée. Sera responsable des comptes quotidiens, de la tenue des dossiers et des registres. • Surveillez la santé de tous les liners jusqu'à ce que les plantes nouvellement en pot aient été placées dans des lits de culture. • Évaluez les besoins quotidiens et assurez-vous que les fournitures telles que le sol et les pots sont toujours disponibles. • Travailler avec l'applicateur de pesticides IPM pour planifier et réaliser des applications d'herbicides et de pesticides appropriés aux types de cultures et aux problèmes de nuisibles tout au long de l'année sur tous les sites de la pépinière. Respectez le manuel des pratiques standard et les réglementations de Worksafe, y compris la planification du programme de pulvérisation avec le personnel et la mise en place de panneaux d'avertissement. • Superviser la maintenance des registres de pulvérisation et de l'inventaire des produits. • Participer à l’achat d’engrais, de mélanges de rempotage, de produits phytosanitaires et chimiques. • Superviser le fonctionnement quotidien de toutes les zones de croissance de la pépinière. • Assurer la liaison avec les fournisseurs, les représentants du gouvernement et les experts du secteur. • Superviser une équipe de travail variée comprenant jusqu'à 40 employés permanents et saisonniers. • Coordonner et superviser l'opération d'irrigation de la production de conteneurs à la pépinière. • Superviser tout le personnel désigné pour la propagation et assigner des tâches au besoin. • Réaliser des inspections régulières des stocks et des tests sol / eau pour déterminer les problèmes de qualité potentiels. • Planifier et superviser la taille et les applications d'engrais selon les besoins. • être responsable du soin et de l'utilisation des équipements de production pendant les activités de production. • S'assurer que les tâches sont assignées efficacement, que les objectifs de productivité sont atteints et que les normes de sécurité sont respectées.

Formation :

Diplôme :
Formation professionnelle
Ce diplôme ou cette formation est
souhaité(e)

Capacité linguistique :

Niveau de français :
Bon
Langue française est
souhaitée
Niveau d'anglais:
Bilingue
La langue anglaise est
exigée

Expérience professionnelle :

Domaine d'expérience professionnelle :
Nombre d'années d'expérience professionnelle demandé :
durée min 3
durée max 
Cette expérience professionnelle et sa durée sont
exigées

Contrat

Type de contrat :
contrat à durée indéterminée

Rémunération

Les informations sur le salaire sont confidentielles

Avantages annexes :

Logement fourni :
non
Prise en charge du voyage :
non
Déménagement pris en charge :
non

Informations complémentaires (catégorie du visa, déplacements, horaires particuliers, etc) :

Work Conditions: Employee provides own rain gear & steel toed footwear and gloves when necessary. Work in all weather conditions and being physically able to meet demands including standing for extended periods, repetitive bending, twisting and pulling. Extra hours may be required during the growing season to accomplish objectives. Compensation: Subject to experience and education with Group Benefits available after 3 months. Hours of work: Full-time Monday to Friday, 7:30 AM to 4:00 PM.

Lieu de travail :

Colombie-Britannique, Pitt Meadows

Je veux déposer ma candidature pour ce poste

Avis important : Cette offre d’emploi a été soumise directement par l’employeur à l’aide du système de publication d’offres d’emploi de Destination Canada forum mobilité. Le Gouvernement du Canada a pris des mesures supplémentaires afin d’en vérifier l’exactitude et la fiabilité mais ne peut en garantir l’authenticité.